Insurance Cases: Check Cover, Loss and Stated Limits

Check the event before calculating a payment

A premium is not a promise that every loss will be paid. A limit is not the amount automatically paid after any incident. To answer a supplied insurance case, first identify the property and event, then read the conditions, then calculate only what the stated rule allows. All policies, organisations, events and KSh amounts below are invented for classroom reasoning. They are not current products, quotations or real claim decisions.

Kenya’s Insurance Regulatory Authority distinguishes coverage, exclusions, premiums, indemnity and policy limits. Here, coverage identifies the protection described; an exclusion removes a stated event or circumstance; a premium is the stated price of protection. The actual loss is the fictional assessed property loss supplied by the task. A cap is an upper payment limit under our rule. Keep these quantities and conditions separate.

The classroom rule, stated in full

  1. Use the named property, period and event on the card. All stated base-case notification and evidence conditions are assumed satisfied unless the case identifies a gap.
  2. If the event is explicitly excluded, the classroom payment is zero.
  3. If the event is covered and the actual loss is established, pay the smaller of the actual loss and the stated per-event cap.
  4. If a decisive event or evidence fact is unknown, report “cannot determine yet,” rather than inventing an amount.

There is no deductible, underinsurance adjustment, contribution from another policy, depreciation calculation, salvage recovery or prior claim in these exercises. Each supplied loss is final for classroom calculation. These exclusions from the model make its arithmetic transparent; they do not describe how every real property policy works. Never transfer the formula to a real claim without its actual terms and facts.

Three original property-policy summaries

Invented cards, valid only for the classroom cases
Card and property Covered event Explicit exclusion Period Premium Per-event cap
P1: Leafcase shelving Accidental fire affecting the named shelving Gradual wear 1–30 September, fictional year KSh 900 KSh 30,000
P2: Tilebox stored cartons Accidental fire affecting the named cartons Damage caused by roof leakage 1–30 September, fictional year KSh 1,200 KSh 30,000
P3: Windowleaf display stands Storm impact affecting the named stands Gradual wear 1–30 September, fictional year KSh 700 KSh 20,000

The summaries are deliberately short toy contracts. A named event is needed: writing “damage happened” does not establish accidental fire or storm impact. Likewise, an amount written beside premium cannot be substituted for a loss valuation. Read the headings before using any number.

Worked case 1: a covered loss below the cap

Record L1 states that accidental fire damaged P1’s shelving on 12 September. Its final assessed loss is KSh 18,000; ownership of the named property and all other stated classroom conditions are supplied as satisfied. Fire matches the covered event, the date is within the period, and no exclusion is triggered by the supplied facts.

The payment is the smaller of KSh 18,000 and KSh 30,000: KSh 18,000. The KSh 900 premium is not added to this amount. Nor is it a deductible. Paying the full cap would exceed the supplied loss by KSh 12,000 and violate this toy rule. The cap is a ceiling, not a target to reach.

In this simplified case the payment equals the assessed loss. That illustrates the restorative purpose of indemnity, rather than a chance to profit from damage. It does not establish an entitlement under any actual policy, where valuation and other terms may differ.

Worked case 2: a covered loss above the cap

Record L2 supplies accidental fire to P2’s cartons on 19 September, with a final loss of KSh 42,000 and the remaining conditions satisfied. The event is covered; the roof-leakage exclusion is not the stated cause. Under the supplied rule, compare 42,000 with 30,000 and select KSh 30,000.

The loss exceeds this payment by KSh 42,000 − KSh 30,000 = KSh 12,000. Describe this as the portion of the supplied loss beyond the classroom payment. Do not call it a deductible, since none is included. The higher premium on P2 also does not override its printed cap or show that its holder can recover all losses.

A claim that “any payment below the loss contradicts indemnity” is too strong. Indemnity is not a guarantee that every loss is fully reimbursed regardless of exclusions and limits. In this exercise both the no-profit principle and the explicit maximum matter.

Worked case 3: distinguish excluded from uncertain

Record L3a states that gradual wear caused KSh 6,000 damage to P3’s display stands during September. Wear is expressly excluded, so the classroom payment is KSh 0. Comparing 6,000 with the 20,000 cap before checking the event would produce a wrong answer.

Now replace only the cause entry with “damage found; cause not established,” giving record L3b. The correct result becomes cannot determine yet. It is not automatically zero and not automatically KSh 6,000. A suitable next piece of fictional evidence would establish whether storm impact, gradual wear or another cause occurred. Evidence resolving the cause must be read against the card, rather than assumed from the size of the loss.

A compact answer structure

State the relevant policy fact, match it to the loss record, apply the named rule and state the result with its limit. For L2: “The record supplies covered fire damage within P2’s period. The classroom payment is the lower of KSh 42,000 loss and KSh 30,000 cap, so KSh 30,000; KSh 12,000 of the loss exceeds that payment.” This is more defensible than writing only a figure.

Three solved practice tasks

Practice 1: the cap is unused

Task: A fresh fictional card covers the supplied event, with loss KSh 12,500, premium KSh 500 and cap KSh 20,000. Use the same rule. Answer: KSh 12,500. Neither adding the premium nor claiming the unused KSh 7,500 of the cap is allowed by the stated rule.

Practice 2: state the uncovered remainder precisely

Task: A covered event causes KSh 27,000 loss under a KSh 25,000 cap, with all other conditions satisfied. Answer: Payment is KSh 25,000 and the excess of loss over payment is KSh 2,000. This is a cap effect, not evidence of a deductible or an error in the loss figure.

Practice 3: missing date

Task: A record supplies fire damage and a final loss, but no event date. The fictional card covers September only. Can you calculate a definite payment? Answer: No. The date is decisive evidence for whether the event falls within the period. Request that fact within the fictional case; a paid premium cannot fill the gap.

Frequently asked questions

Is premium the amount paid after a loss?

No. It is the stated cost of protection. The payment after a covered event follows the conditions and settlement rule supplied by the case.

Does a cap promise full payment of that amount?

No. Under this classroom rule a loss below the cap produces a smaller payment. The cap supplies a maximum, not a minimum.

Why check the event before the arithmetic?

A low loss under the cap may still arise from an excluded event. Arithmetic cannot turn an excluded cause into covered damage.

Is an uncertain event the same as an excluded one?

No. Exclusion is established by matching supplied facts to the card. Uncertainty means decisive facts are missing and the result cannot yet be determined.

Where is the deductible in these cases?

There is none. Do not subtract the premium or invent an excess. A different exercise would need to define any deductible and its calculation order explicitly.

Can indemnity make the holder richer after a loss?

Its restorative purpose does not support a profit from the loss. This model limits payment to both the supplied loss and the stated cap.

Can these answers decide a real claim?

No. Real policy wording, evidence, valuations and applicable requirements may be more complex. These answers apply only to the fictional rule cards.

References

Insurance Regulatory Authority: terminology glossary. The teaching cases, questions, tables and answers are original.